Sidney Myer Australian Ceramics Award

Applications Closed | 264 views in last 12 months
Applications close
7 November 2016
17 June 2017
Prize money
AUD $50,000
VIC, Australia
Will you enter this prize?
This is an anonymous survey
I will enter this prize

With an expansion to $50,000 in prize monies, the new award confirms its place as the premier Australian acquisitive art award. With the hindsight of hosting ten international awards in its previous guise, the art museum has made a number of significant changes. These changes are intended to provide better career development opportunities for Australian artists, more strategic collecting for the Art Museum, and a greater depth to the exhibition for visitors and associated publishing.

There will be five recipients of the award, each of whom will receive a $2,000 stipend to produce a body of work for exhibition. Costs associated with the exhibition will be borne by the Art Museum, including freight and the production of a fully illustrated catalogue. The Art Museum will also pay airfares and accommodation for recipient artists to attend the opening event and present at the associated seminar. Moreover artists will work with the support of curatorial staff at SAM throughout the planning of their exhibitions.

There will be four months between the announcement of award recipients and the delivery of works to SAM. One of the five shortlisted artists will be awarded a $50,000 acquisitive cash prize, and their work will enter the SAM collection. The prize winning work, and any other special acquisitions to the SAM collection, will be announced at the official opening on Saturday 22 August 2015.

Venue: Shepparton Art Gallery, Eastbank Centre, 70-90 Welsford StWelsford St, Shepparton VIC 3632

Contact: For more information call 03 5832 9861 or email

Applications close
7 November 2016
Exhibition dates
17 June - 13 August 2017
Finalists notified
16 December 2016
National Entries
Prize frequency
Biennial - Odd Years
Jacqueline Doughty, Curatorial Manager, The Ian Potter Museum of Art, The University of Melbourne; Jason Smith, Director, Geelong Art Gallery; and Dr Rebecca Coates, Director, Shepparton Art Museum.
Prize genre
Shepparton Art Gallery, Eastbank Centre, 70-90 Welsford StWelsford St, Shepparton VIC 3632
AUD $50,000
There is an entry fee of $25.
Last updated
21 June 2017
Prior Winners
2017: Jenny Orchard - Winner ($50,000)
2015: Mario Nithlyendran - Winner ($5,000)